201 Presidents Circle, Room 205 · Salt Lake City, Utah 84112-9007 · 801-581-5057

MEMORANDUM

TO: Deans, Department Chairs, and Directors

FROM: Martell Teasley, Interim Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

SUBJECT: Distinguished Professor Nominations

Nominations are being solicited for the rank of Distinguished Professor. Typically, up to six Distinguished Professors are selected each year. Nominations from all parts of the campus are strongly encouraged.

Policy and Procedures 6-300 states, "The rank of Distinguished Professor is reserved for selected individuals whose achievements exemplify the highest goals of scholarship as demonstrated by recognition accorded to them from peers with national and international stature, and whose record includes evidence of a high dedication to teaching as demonstrated by recognition accorded to them by students and/or colleagues." A person should not ordinarily be recommended to the distinguished professorship unless they are a member of the faculty who has completed **five** years of service at the University of Utah prior to the nomination.

The nomination and selection of Distinguished Professors occurs annually. Repeat nominations are permissible up to three years. After three years, the nominee must wait two years before being eligible for re-nomination. Regarding repeat nominations, we encourage nominators and/or other professors to add any additional information to update the file that they deem important for this year's consideration.

All nominations must be submitted electronically. A list of current Distinguished Professors, nomination guidelines and forms can be found on the web at http://academic-affairs.utah.edu/awards-nominations/distinguished-professor/. Remember that the content of these nominations differ from RPT packages, with a particular emphasis on the highest levels of distinction. Supporting documents should highlight how award criteria are met.

Nomination forms and curriculum vitae must be submitted no later than Friday, October 28, 2022

Questions, please contact the Distinguished Professor Advisory Committee.

College Groupings	Representatives	Email	Phone
At Large	Marjorie Chan	marjorie.chan@utah.edu	801-581-6551
Colleges of Fine Arts, Architecture + Planning, Humanities, Libraries, School for Cultural & Social Transformation, or Law	Eric Hinderaker	eric.hinderaker@utah.edu	801-585-0335
	Robert Keiter	robert.keiter@law.utah.edu	801-581-5035
Colleges of Social and Behavioral Sciences, Education, Social Work,	Tim Smith	tim.smith@psych.utah.edu	801-581-5087
Business, or Health	Julie Fritz	julie.fritz@utah.edu	801-581-6297
Colleges of Engineering, Mines and Earth Sciences, or Science	Henry White	white@chem.utah.edu	801-585-6256
	David Pershing	david.pershing@utah.edu	801-587-8296
Colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, or Pharmacy	Kathleen Digre	kathleen.digre@hsc.utah.edu	801-581-6871
	Saundra Buys	saundra.buys@hci.utah.edu	801-585-0255